Following criticism about how Meta’s privacy features could help criminals evade law enforcement they have announced a new global advertising campaign as well as three new features for WhatsApp users.
- Users will be able to leave group chats without it notifying everyone in the group
- Previously, if a user left a group chat it would announce it to the whole group
- Now, it will only notify the admins of the group
- Users will be able to control who is able to see when they are online
- Previously, all WhatsApp contacts would be able to see when a user was currently online
- Now, users will be able to choose whether they want to share that.
- Users will not be able to take screenshots of any “View Once” media
- Previously, users were warned to send auto-deleting “View Once” media to trusted contacts as it was possible to screenshot or screen record the message
- Now, users won’t be able to record the media sent via the “View Once” feature.